Welcome to Warhammer 40k - Lexicanum! Log in and join the community.

Warhammer 40k - Lexicanum:Deletion policy

From Warhammer 40k - Lexicanum
Jump to: navigation, search

A deletion is the permanent removal of content from the Lexicanum pages for a variety of reasons. Normal Editors are not able to delete content, but they can request an Administrator to do it on their behalf (see below).

What are the reasons for the deletion of content?

Note:The following list is non-exhaustive and deletions might be performed at the discretion of any Administrator or Bureaucrat.

  • any content without proper citations is subject to deletion on sight
  • any abusive, disruptive or otherwise inappropriate comments are subject to deletion on sight
  • any illegal, commercial or inflammatory content is subject to deletion on sight
  • any fan-created "lore" or files are subject to deletion on sight
  • any spam content is subject to deletion on sight
  • any edits that are not in line with the rules and guidelines laid down in the Lexicanum Help section are subject to - depending on a case by case basis - immediate deletion or deletion after the responsible Editor failed to respond to a request to fix specific mistakes.
  • any other forbidden content is subject to deletion on sight
  • User Pages and Warhammer 40k - Lexicanum:User Talk Pages of inactive Editors can be deleted at the discretion of any Administrator or Bureaucrat. Lexicanum webspace is reserved for active users and contributors of the Lexicanum. You are not allowed to use up our webspace if you are not involved in the project.

Who decides about deletions?

Only Lexicanum Administrators and Bureaucrats are authorized to decide about deletions of content.

Can I report content for deletion?

Yes. Contact a Lexicanum Administrator or Bureaucrat. Do note that if you abuse this function there might be consequences (see Warhammer 40k - Lexicanum:Banning policy).

Another option to nominate content for deletion is to enter it as a Deletion Candidate.

What happens to the deleted content?

The deletion of a Lexicanum article removes the current version and all previous versions from public view. This means they are still accessible to the Administrators and Bureaucrats. This does however not apply to the deletion of files - once they are deleted, they are gone.

Can deleted content be restored?

Deleted files cannot be restored. Deleted pages can be restored by Administrators and Bureaucrats if necessary.

Can an appeal be lodged against a deletion or for a restoration of previously deleted content?

Yes, such requests can be submitted to an Administrator. Do note however that there is no obligation by Lexicanum staff to restore specific content and that logical and very good reasons should be supplied with any such request.

But I saw a "normal" Editor delete the content of an article...

No, normal Editors do not have access to the deletion tools. What you most probably witnessed was a process called Page blanking in which the content was "overwritten" with a different (possibly even "empty" content). This can sometimes be a legitimate process, for example when unsourced content is removed in preparation of overhauling/ re-creating an article. Or because content was moved from one article to a more appropriate article. Unfortunately sometimes Editors do intentionally and with no legitimate reason vandalize articles by "blanking" them completely or partly. If you come across such acts, please immediately report them to an Administrators who will take corresponding measures.

Can I check which content has been deleted?

Yes, any Editor can check the Deletion log.

Will I be warned before my content is deleted?

No. There are normally valid reasons for deletion and no need for discussing such a course of action.

See also

For more information on deletion processes in general see here. You should however be aware that the Lexicanum does not necessarily follow the processes employed in Wikipedia.